Edword Evwrit

                                                        Exclusive Interview

 Bio: At a young age, “speaking when spoken” to was a term taken to heart, for fear of being seen as a nuisance for Edword Evwrit. To this day he leans closer to the quiet side in everyday interactions, until the moment he is in front of a microphone, delivering rhymes with passion and enthusiasm. As a rapper in this day and age, Edword Evwrit takes pride in writing his lyrics, deep subject matter and the self restraint of avoiding random tangents. Edword Evwrit grew up in the Bay Area, CA surrounded by a large family in love with music. Though he was a late bloomer, starting his rap endeavors in his junior year of high school, his commitment to music is deeply rooted within him.

 

Who are your top 5 influences? Kendrick Lamar would be might first. Before he even came out, he was the artist I always strove to be. Lyrically, creatively, his delivery. I remember the first time hearing Overly Dedicated I knew he was the greatest rapper. LunaClick is a huge influence. It’s the group I’m a part of, but was also together a long time before I even started rapping. It consisted of my brothers and cousins, but eventually dwindled down to me and two others, until now, it’s kind of non existent. But if it weren’t for them making music since I was a kid I probably wouldn’t be doing this now. Childish Gambino. The talent level of that dude is ridiculous. On all fronts that man can rap, sing, act, write, do comedy, direct, film, what ever, it doesn’t seem to matter. I grew up working with a multitude of arts and he basically took it to the next level. Shows me that nothing’s ever off the table. Chance the Rapper. For being so young, he is a smart dude. The things he’s achieved without a label, and just where his head is at all the time. It’s very admirable, and I feel like if he can be this responsible at this age then what the hell am I doing right now? My family. I grew up very family oriented, and it reflects in a lot of my music. I rap what I know and I don’t know nothing but myself and the people I keep around me.

When are your new projects coming out? My newest project is “these pants are uncomfortable”. That just released November 4, 2016. So for now I’m just pushing that with no current plans on when my next album will drop. I do have my concept and a couple songs started but I’m taking my time with it.

What helped you get into music? Music’s always been in my family. I didn’t care much as a kid but when I finally took notice I was all in. Like I said LunaClick was a major influence and probably are the reason I got into it at all. So I have my brothers and cousins to thank for that.

What is one thing you would tell your fans? Treat people how you want to be treated. That goes for my non-fans to. Just be better humans.

What are your biggest goals for 2016? I just want as many people to hear my music as possible, and give them the chance to decide whether they enjoy it or not.


Leave a comment