Duskvll

Exclusive Interview

Give us your bio I go by Duskvll. I’m 27 years old and I was born and raised in the birthplace of hip hop, The Bronx. I used to be in a melodic started working with hip hop and it proved to be much more cathartic for me. I implement a lot of piano samples, video game and pop cultures references in my tracks to exhume certain emotions.

Who are your top 5 influences? Hm Surf and Eevee will always be my top two, if you listen to my music, the inspo is there haha. Kupla is another influence of mine, Lush Lofi is an experience ya’ll. And finally Trippie Redd and Lil Peep; two kids who grew up loving punk and hip hop. That resonates with me a lot and to boot, the beats they choose often times end being lofi beats and they always kill it. RIP PEEP.

When are your new projects coming out? Well, Let me Try that Again 02 dropped on Halloween! And it’s my second beattape in my core series and it was an absolute pleasure making it. I plan on doing lots of side stuff and I have a sampler full of songs just waiting to be released. Maybe soon. Maybe later. Who knows 😉

What helped you get into music? I was always surrounded by music being that I’m Dominican, Mami always play bachata when it was time to clean ahaha I deff think my parents pushed me into music once they realized i had an attraction for it. They eventually got me my first guitar and after that it was a wrap. I played everyday, i created a band and ended up Touring China, that was 6 years ago. It was then that i realized; “i gottaaaaaa keep this momentum goin!” Sadly i left the band to focus on myself and martial arts but music always called me back and this time it was Hip Hop that called me.

What is one thing you would tell your fans? This shit is easy. Straight up, if you want to make music. Do it. Make noise, get loud, or don’t! But create ya’ll. Creating is so important. Don’t be afraid of criticism, embrace the good and bad and just create!

What are your biggest goals for 2021? Like every artist, create more music. But i really want to make Lofi in NYC a force to be reckoned with so I’d love if all the lofi beatmakers in NYC did one big tape. That would be sick. Maybe i should do that?!


Leave a comment